A Jumble of Distraction

8 March 2006

These recent couple of weeks are (supposedly) very hectic for me. I’ve got one important deadline (my dissertation manuscript!) and, shortly after, another deadline (materials for Barcelona!). But somehow I managed to make myself more busy with other things..

First of all, it’s not easy to concentrate when your head is filled with many upsetting news (the Raju case, the RUU AP/P conflicts, and such). Secondly, it’s very easy to get distracted by lighter activities (which I easily agreed upon), such as helping Dhanu’s class preparing their “Pirate” theme for this month. I ended up making cardboard short swords and binoculars, painted and decorated them with crépe paper and (self-made) pirate stickers. I drew a seriously challenging treasure map. I made a ship’s steer wheel out of a real car steer wheel, added with cardboard pieces and more crépe papers. And today, I volunteered to paint a scenery of a pirate ship, heading to a volcanic island (where a treasure chest is kept), next to a skull-shaped rock – on a 2×2 sqm cloth.

On Saturday evening, I plan to go to a Strips in Stereo event at Paradiso, and the Sunday afterwards, we’ll go to a birthday party (a colleague of my husband) in Vijzelstraat. I’m just glad that the venues are nearby our place.

I might have missed the board meeting of Stichting ZieZo (where I am a member) last Monday, but I voted for The Netherlands and Amsterdam councils (for the first time, as an immigrant!) last Tuesday. I rarely go to the chatting line anymore (miss you, people!), at least until I come back from Barcelona, next week.
I should be reading books that are relevant to my research, but I oftenly picked up my new The Hitchhikers’ Guide to The Galaxy or the new MAD magazine (that keeps coming, despite the fact that my subscription should already be expired about half a year ago).

Well, I should really get on with my work now. But before that, I think I’ll take up the challenge from my friend www5 about revealing my little secrets (see? It’s too easy to tempt me nowadays! Haha!)

Image: “Distraction”, John Leech Sketch from 1847. Source: John Leech Archive, UK.

Leave a comment